Colorado Minimum Wage to Increase in 2019
Colorado employers should prepare for an increase in the state minimum wage from $10.20 to $11.10, per hour, and from $7.18 to $8.08 per hour for tipped employees, effective January 1, 2019. The increase comes as a result of Amendment 70, under which Colorado’s minimum wage increases annually by $.90 until it reaches $12.00 per hour in 2020.FN1
Other notable minimum wage increases in 2019 include the following:
1. Federal Contractor Minimum Wage: On January 1, 2019, the minimum wage that federal contractors must pay covered workers will increase from $10.35 to $10.60 per hour, and the minimum wage for covered tipped employees will increase from $7.25 to $7.40 per hour.FN2
2. California Minimum Wage: On January 1, 2019, California’s state-wide minimum wage will increase from $10.50 to $11.00 per hour for employers with 1-25 employees, and from $11.00 to $12.00 for employers with 26 or more employees.FN3
3. Ohio Minimum Wage: On January 1, 2019, Ohio’s minimum wage will increase from $8.30 to $8.55 per hour, and the minimum wage for tipped employees will increase from $4.15 to $4.30 per hour.FN4
4. Massachusetts Minimum Wage: on January 1, 2019, Massachusetts’ minimum wage will increase from $11.00 to $12.00 per hour, and the minimum wage for tipped employees will increase from $3.75 to $4.35 per hour.FN5
Campbell Litigation will provide an update on minimum wage increases before the end of the year.
FN1: See Colorado Constitution Article XVIII, Section 15, https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Colorado%20Constitution,%20Article%20XVIII,%20Section%2015.pdf. After 2020, the Colorado minimum wage will be increased annually for cost of living increases. On November 6, 2018, the Colorado DOL will be holding a public hearing on proposed Minimum Wage Order No. 35, which formalizes the January 1, 2019 minimum wage increase. Public comments will be accepted through November 8, 2018. See http://files.constantcontact.com/de30c015101/86a6529a-f876-4f41-8296-275aeb412de9.pdf for detailed information on the public hearing.
FN3: See https://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/faq_minimumwage.htm. Additionally, approximately 30 cities in California have local minimum wage laws. See http://laborcenter.berkeley.edu/minimum-wage-living-wage-resources/inventory-of-us-city-and-county-minimum-wage-ordinances/
FN5: Kelsey Basten, Massachusetts Passes Minimum Wage and Paid Leave Law, GovDocs.com (Jul. 5, 2018), https://www.govdocs.com/massachusetts-passes-minimum-wage-and-paid-leave-law/