Colorado Governor Jared Polis signed a law that classifies an employer’s failure to pay wages as “theft,” making it a criminal offense. Under the new law, which takes effect on January 1, 2020, any employer who willfully refuses to pay wages, or intentionally and falsely denies the amount or validity of a wage claim, commits criminal theft….Read More
The Democrat-controlled Colorado General Assembly has introduced a bill that would allow cities to set their own minimum wages. Colorado law currently prohibits municipalities from setting minimum wages higher than the state rate (currently $11.10 an hour, with an increase to $12.00 an hour in 2020).Read More
As we approach the end of the year, employers should be aware that minimum wages are set to increase in twenty-one states in 2019. The following table, which supplements The Rocky Mountain Employer’s post earlier this year, sets forth the upcoming 2019 increases in minimum wages and tipped employee minimum wages.Read More
Two bills with potentially wide-reaching effects on Colorado employers did not survive the recently-closed legislative session.